I feel totally betrayed": Pentagon orders soldiers to repay bonuses a decade after going to war

Elaine
10/26/2016 5:58 pm EST
10/26/2016 10:58 pm GMT

Avatar for Elaine

I feel totally betrayed": Pentagon orders soldiers to repay bonuses a decade after going to war

I feel totally betrayed": Pentagon orders soldiers to repay bonuses a decade after going to war
Oct 23, 2016
The Pentagon is forcing veterans to repay thousands of dollars in enlistment bonuses ten years after their service, according to the Los Angeles Times.
Read More

shame

Well medicated for your protection.

Anonymous Coward
10/26/2016 6:41 pm EST
10/26/2016 11:41 pm GMT

RE: I feel totally betrayed": Pentagon orders soldiers to repay bonuses a decade after going to war

The secretary of defense ordered the army to stop.

http://www.nbcnews.com/news/military/defense-secretary-ash-carter-outraged-over-reenlistment-bonus-scandal-n673071

-gg-
10/26/2016 6:57 pm EST
10/26/2016 11:57 pm GMT

RE: I feel totally betrayed": Pentagon orders soldiers to repay bonuses a decade after going to war

That just pisses me of so much!

They shouldn't have to pay a dime back. It's not their fault.

katya
10/26/2016 7:33 pm EST
10/27/2016 12:33 am GMT

Avatar for katya

RE: I feel totally betrayed": Pentagon orders soldiers to repay bonuses a decade after going to war

Convenient that Ash Carter rides in to save the day after 6 years...

Then in 2010, federal investigators discovered that thousands of those bonuses, as well as student loan payments, were improperly approved. The next year, Army Master Sgt. Toni Jaffe, the California National Guard's bonus and incentive manager, pleaded guilty to filing $15.2 million in false claims and was sentenced to 30 months in federal prison.


:lol::scream:
"Can't we just drone this guy?"

Anonymous Coward
10/26/2016 8:59 pm EST
10/27/2016 1:59 am GMT

RE: I feel totally betrayed": Pentagon orders soldiers to repay bonuses a decade after going to war

What a bummer for that master sergeant, getting busted all the way down to slick sleeve and spending time in Ft. Leavenworth. Plus, he was probably dishonorably discharged to boot and gets no bennies. That'll learn him.

katya
10/26/2016 9:41 pm EST
10/27/2016 2:41 am GMT

Avatar for katya

RE: I feel totally betrayed": Pentagon orders soldiers to repay bonuses a decade after going to war

Not he-- she. And, she's on tap for the $15 mil. (?)

https://archives.fbi.gov/archives/losangeles/press-releases/2012/former-california-national-guard-master-sergeant-sentenced-to-30-months-in-federal-prison-in-15-million-false-claims-case

"Can't we just drone this guy?"

Anonymous Coward
10/27/2016 2:11 am EST
10/27/2016 7:11 am GMT

RE: I feel totally betrayed": Pentagon orders soldiers to repay bonuses a decade after going to war

Holy moly, that's a lot of moolah. I wonder if she filed for bankruptcy, or if she even can.

Any way you look at it, it sucks to be her.

Forum

Browse

Paypal

Solar & Geomagnetic
Conditions
status
kpstatus

CURRENT MOON

ADVERTISEMENT

Kali Yantra