Page 1, 2

US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Auntie Elaine
12/20/2018 7:55 pm EST
12/21/2018 12:55 am GMT

Avatar for Auntie Elaine

US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns
Dec 20, 2018
"Because you have the right to have a secretary of defence whose views are better aligned with yours on these and other subjects, I believe it is right for me to step down," Gen Mattis wrote.
Read More

I wonder who Putin will appoint next?

Well medicated for your protection. ॐ ♡

smiley

ThunderCunt
12/20/2018 8:00 pm EST
12/21/2018 1:00 am GMT

Avatar for ThunderCunt

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

this guy looks legit



threaded through the thunder

Solo
12/20/2018 8:10 pm EST
12/21/2018 1:10 am GMT

Avatar for Solo

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

He met with some of the tech leaders last year. Found that disturbing.

Roll the bones

Anonymous Coward
12/20/2018 9:43 pm EST
12/21/2018 2:43 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

^^He ran "those" operations. The Intel gathering and counter Intelligence. Half the BS people believe on these sites was made up by him and his team.

The tech corporations have been gathering more data on you than the NSA has...if they were not already covertly partnered with them or openly as in CIA Contractor Amazon.

We have two governments, one Political and the True Power is the Corporate one. Mattis will be working for those Tech Giants soon.

Revolving Door of Washington. You work for the fake government everyone things is real getting paid peanuts then you retire and get paid millions working for the real government that people think is fake or nonexistent.

Anonymous Coward
12/20/2018 10:34 pm EST
12/21/2018 3:34 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

You can be distracted but consider a couple of things.

First, Russia was about to dump the goods on him so he is forced to clear a path for them. Second, his Israel talk is lip service. Third, he has to deflect all that is going on with Mueller. Fourth, he's sick of faking the leader he thought he could be. Large fail.

Fifth, he wants his stupid wall and is trying to deflect. Sixth, he will self-destruct, if he has not already, by insisting on the impotent wall.

Senate passed a bill to fund the $5 bil. Not going to happen. They are calling his bluff and setting themselves up for re-election. Trump proposed an abnormally large increase (pun intended)in the defense department's budget so he could potentially siphon it off to get his dick hard and build his wall.

Is he trying to withdraw troops from Syria to force them to be the erector set? And now it is steel panels. Is that an attempt to mitigate the damage that Tariff Man has done to US industry?

He's the Economy Destructor in Chief. Someone, please medicate this man.

~ta~

Anonymous Coward
12/20/2018 10:56 pm EST
12/21/2018 3:56 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Anyone who sides with Mattis over Trump is a war monger and total hypocrite. Might as well say you have no principles and it's all about being against everything the President does.

Occupations of foreign lands is highly unacceptable and people acting like Mattis is some sort of person to look up to are easily duped rubes.

Our foreign policy has been an embarrassment long before DJT took office.

Anonymous Coward
12/20/2018 11:10 pm EST
12/21/2018 4:10 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Our current foreign policy goes back at least to Viet Nam, and it was getting better until Regan took office. Sure, he "broke down the wall" but infused foreign policy with arab hatred and used the Partition to his political advantage.

Do you think abscam was a picnic? Then came W and 9/11.

Be sanctimonious all you want, but the hole is deep and there is no easy way out of it. Nationalism isn't going to work when the tendrils are imbued.

If you see an easy way out of it, please let me know.

~ta~

Anonymous Coward
12/20/2018 11:23 pm EST
12/21/2018 4:23 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

There haven't been any significant goals achieved on that side of the globe and we've been over there hardcore for going on 18 years now.

Think of all the children and civilians who were droned while Mattis served.

That's where his sanctimonious moralist bullshit goes by the wayside. He left in a huff because perpetual war and occupation has been good to him and his clan.

Anonymous Coward
12/20/2018 11:40 pm EST
12/21/2018 4:40 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Anyone who sides with Mattis over Trump is a war monger and total hypocrite


I refuse to side with anyone. Give Mattis the benefit of the doubt. He SCORCHED chump on his way out.

https://www.cnn.com/2018/12/20/politics/james-mattis-resignation-letter-doc/index.html

At this point it is not about his past. Maybe his ghosts woke him up. It is about what is right for our country right now. All of the best sailors are abandoning ship.

~ta~

Anonymous Coward
12/20/2018 11:50 pm EST
12/21/2018 4:50 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns



Revolving Door of Washington. You work for the fake government everyone things is real getting paid peanuts then you retire and get paid millions working for the real government that people think is fake or nonexistent.


There is usually a non-compete type clause that stipulates that you can not lobby for an industry that you have had dealings with as a legislator, elected official, appointee. However, if you have been a lobbyist you can get elected and those prohibitions go out the window. Now you can do business with everyone you lobbied for.

My take is that some who have left the white house have done so in disgust. Could be window dressing. Their lobbyist have been alive, happy, making money and most importantly, writing legislation.

Lobbyists often write legislation and then go to the senators and congressmen that they paid to get into office with the expectation that it passes.

Corporations pay multiple lobbyists because they know or anticipate who will stay in office and who will be re-elected. Lobbyists get paid on retainer, but they also get bonuses when the issues that their clients want passed in bill format, actually get passed.

In some ways I am ashamed that I know this, but in other ways, nothing has changed. It never will.

Hold on...

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 12:47 am EST
12/21/2018 5:47 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Hidalgo.

I was in Lordsburg for work a couple week ago. They can't handle an influx. Not enough infrastructure but a highway and a tiny grocery store. Las Cruces would be best.

katya
12/21/2018 1:38 am EST
12/21/2018 6:38 am GMT

Avatar for katya

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Pocahontas still would not be proud of her as her representative.

smiley

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 2:26 am EST
12/21/2018 7:26 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

There is usually a non-compete type clause that stipulates that you can not lobby for an industry that you have had dealings with as a legislator, elected official, appointee. However, if you have been a lobbyist you can get elected and those prohibitions go out the window. Now you can do business with everyone you lobbied for.

My take is that some who have left the white house have done so in disgust. Could be window dressing. Their lobbyist have been alive, happy, making money and most importantly, writing legislation.

Lobbyists often write legislation and then go to the senators and congressmen that they paid to get into office with the expectation that it passes.

Corporations pay multiple lobbyists because they know or anticipate who will stay in office and who will be re-elected. Lobbyists get paid on retainer, but they also get bonuses when the issues that their clients want passed in bill format, actually get passed.

In some ways I am ashamed that I know this, but in other ways, nothing has changed. It never will.

Hold on...


Miss, you're in a Wendy's drive-thru.
smiley

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 2:29 am EST
12/21/2018 7:29 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Rogers departure. Intel.

Sessions departure. Law.

Kelly departure. Warfare/MIL

Mattis departure. Warfare/MIL

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 2:48 am EST
12/21/2018 7:48 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Why are pundits and experts of the uniparty against the troops coming home?

Gee I wonder what Trump is up to.
smiley

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 3:14 am EST
12/21/2018 8:14 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Trump will be bad mouthing him in a week !

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 4:29 am EST
12/21/2018 9:29 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Jim is a good solid name.

I trust him implicitly.

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 12:07 pm EST
12/21/2018 5:07 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Anyone who sides with Mattis over Trump is a war monger and total hypocrite


So says the bootlicking sycophant of a moron. You seem actually proud of your stupidity and ignorance.

Is it just an eerie coincidence that Trump's foreign policy complements Putin's world view?

katya
12/21/2018 12:14 pm EST
12/21/2018 5:14 pm GMT

Avatar for katya

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Where people howling when Mad Dog was fired by Hussien with a note?

President Barack Obama fired General James Mattis, the head of Central Command, without even calling the general to let him know he was being replaced.

"I am told that General Mattis was travelling and in a meeting when an aide passed him a note telling him that the Pentagon had announced his replacement as head of Central Command. It was news to him -- he hadn't received a phone call or a heads-up from anyone at the Pentagon or the White House," Thomas E. Ricks reports.

https://www.weeklystandard.com/daniel-halper/obama-fires-top-general-without-even-a-phone-call
Pocahontas still would not be proud of her as her representative.

smiley

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 12:21 pm EST
12/21/2018 5:21 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

I was waiting for some idiotic trailer trash scum to come on here and say "Durr... but Obama..." and along came Katya right on cue.

katya
12/21/2018 12:27 pm EST
12/21/2018 5:27 pm GMT

Avatar for katya

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

I was waiting


You have such and excitedly boring life going on there, pal.
Pocahontas still would not be proud of her as her representative.

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 12:41 pm EST
12/21/2018 5:41 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

^
I am not the one on here for hours fanatically defending Donald Trump's latest idiotic outburst.

fnord
12/21/2018 1:48 pm EST
12/21/2018 6:48 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Booga booga!

Russia gonna glitcha!

Hafta rehire the war-monger generals like Votel and Mattis and start WWIII.

Nothin like mushroom clouds to decorate the American prairie, and finally rid us of NewYork, Washington, and LA.

Make Sacramento the new capital of the US, and import all of mexico to work in the vegetable fields of silicon valley.

katya
12/21/2018 2:10 pm EST
12/21/2018 7:10 pm GMT

Avatar for katya

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Oh what a difference a year makes...

https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/19/opinion/editorials/syria-war-trump.html

January 19, 2018:

As a candidate, Donald Trump warned against foreign wars, not least in Syria. A year into his presidency, he is adding Syria to a list of open-ended conflicts that already includes Afghanistan and Iraq.



As of last month, there were about 2,000 American troops in Syria - up from 500 a year ago - a mix of engineering units and Special Operations units that fight and train with local militias in the battle against the Islamic State. Now that we know they will be there indefinitely, who can say the number won't go higher and the mission won't creep more?

Syria is a complex problem. But this plan seems poorly conceived, too dependent on military action and fueled by wishful thinking.



But the goals in Syria are so sweeping they may be unattainable, thus leaving American troops there in perpetuity.
______________________________________________


https://www.nytimes.com/2018/12/19/opinion/editorials/trump-syria-withdrawal.html

December 19, 2018:

On Wednesday, Mr. Trump summarily overruled Mr. Bolton and the rest of his national security team. He ordered the withdrawal of all 2,000 American ground troops from Syria within 30 days.

That abrupt and dangerous decision, detached from any broader strategic context or any public rationale, sowed new uncertainty about America's commitment to the Middle East, its willingness to be a global leader and Mr. Trump's role as commander in chief.



An American withdrawal would also be a gift to Vladimir Putin, the Russian leader, who has been working hard to supplant American influence in the region and who, on Thursday, enthusiastically welcomed the decision, saying, "Donald's right." Another beneficiary is Iran, which has also expanded its regional footprint. It would certainly make it harder for the Trump administration to implement its policy of ratcheting up what it calls "maximum pressure" on Iran.
Pocahontas still would not be proud of her as her representative.

katya
12/21/2018 2:13 pm EST
12/21/2018 7:13 pm GMT

Avatar for katya

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Less than a year ago, the Times editorial board condemned Trump for breaking his campaign pledge, for throwing 2,000 Americans into an "open-ended conflict" that has no real chance of success, which meant another war of "perpetuity."

And now that Trump appears to agree with that assessment, this very same editorial board is siding with John Bolton(!!!) and accusing Trump of being a Russian stooge.

There is no principle here. No consistency. It is Orwell's 1984, where one day, we are at war with Eurasia and the next with Eastasia, and which one doesn't matter because it is not about anything other than extreme partisans driven by a demonic need to destroy a man, even if that means doing a complete 180 on an issue as important as deploying American lives.

Thankfully, the people see this, which is why the media are a national laughingstock.

https://www.funwithfascists.com/the-media/2018/12/21/medias-shameless-flip-flop-syria/

(Breitbart)
Pocahontas still would not be proud of her as her representative.

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 2:53 pm EST
12/21/2018 7:53 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

So says the bootlicking sycophant of a moron. You seem actually proud of your stupidity and ignorance.

Is it just an eerie coincidence that Trump's foreign policy complements Putin's world view?


You're just mad because you want perpetual war so you can blame Trump for it.

I have no respect for chickenhawk warmongers.

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 3:01 pm EST
12/21/2018 8:01 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Gee I wonder what Trump is up to.



CANCELLED: PALM BEACH/MAR-A-LAGO, FL area 91.141 TFR for POTUS - December 21, 2018 - January 6, 2019. Details @ NBAA's VIP TFR page

---------------------------------------------------

DOOM

Anonymous Coward
12/21/2018 3:41 pm EST
12/21/2018 8:41 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Katya is the queen of whataboutisms because that's all she's got. Trump gave the job to Mattis as a direct jab to Obama. His obvious jealousy of Obama is not only petty, it's spiteful and ignorant. Same mindset he had about Michael Flynn, Trump said: "Obama doesn't like him. Sounds like a guy I want around." We're talking about a man who ran for president not to improve the country but simply to spite his predecessor.

katya
12/21/2018 6:57 pm EST
12/21/2018 11:57 pm GMT

Avatar for katya

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Pocahontas still would not be proud of her as her representative.

smiley

Anonymous Coward
12/22/2018 7:36 am EST
12/22/2018 12:36 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Things are bad when a man with the nickname 'mad dog' finds the Trump Whitehouse too crazy to serve in.

Maybe people should set up a global GoFundMe to build a wall around the Whitehouse to keep the fat orange madman trapped inside.

Anonymous Coward
12/23/2018 11:59 am EST
12/23/2018 4:59 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Trump isn't letting Mattis stay until the end of February.

Deputy Patrick Shanahan assumes the position January 1st.

Anonymous Coward
12/23/2018 6:13 pm EST
12/23/2018 11:13 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Anonymous Coward
12/23/2018 11:59 am EST
12/23/2018 4:59 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns
Trump isn't letting Mattis stay until the end of February.

Deputy Patrick Shanahan assumes the position January 1st.



Well that was fast. A war profiteer running the military - what could go wrong? That just killed the whole "military industrial complex" talking point that Trump fans have been using to cheer this on.

Anonymous Coward
12/24/2018 12:36 pm EST
12/24/2018 5:36 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

When the new year begins next week, President Trump will have an acting chief of staff, an acting secretary of defense, an acting attorney general, an acting EPA administrator, no interior secretary, and no ambassador to the United Nations. The officials originally in all those positions have either been fired or have quit in various measures of disgust or scandal. His former campaign chairman, deputy campaign chairman, national security adviser and personal lawyer have all pleaded guilty to crimes. His campaign, his transition, his foundation and his business are all under investigation. The United States' allies are horrified at the chaos Trump has brought to our foreign policy. The stock market is experiencing wild swings as investors are gripped with fear over what might be coming and what Trump might do to make it worse – a situation alarming enough that the treasury secretary felt the need to call up the CEOs of major banks to assure them that everything is under control.
And, oh yeah, the government is shut down.


https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2018/12/24/this-is-what-we-were-afraid/

Happy Holidays America!
smiley

Gone bat out of hell
12/24/2018 1:41 pm EST
12/24/2018 6:41 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

I came back and tried to make it with you fools but you messed up a good thing.

Anonymous Coward
12/25/2018 11:03 pm EST
12/26/2018 4:03 am GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

Love how the all call him Jim.
MAD DOG is what they used to call him.

So selective our inferior memories really are.
Why did they call him mad dog?

Anyways..

Anonymous Coward
1/2/2019 2:42 pm EST
1/2/2019 7:42 pm GMT

RE: US Defence Secretary Jim Mattis resigns

All the people that supposedly were keeping Trump from doing something crazy and part of whatever secret pact have all quit. If something major happens future historians are going to label us the dumbest civilization ever for not seeing the obvious writing on the wall.

Page 1, 2

Forum

Browse

Paypal

Solar & Geomagnetic
Conditions
status
kpstatus

CURRENT MOON

ADVERTISEMENT

Kali Yantra