Mystery as Russia LIQUIDATED almost ALL of its holdings in US Treasury securities during run up to Helsinki

Elaine
7/29/2018 12:33 pm EST
7/29/2018 5:33 pm GMT

Avatar for Elaine

Mystery as Russia LIQUIDATED almost ALL of its holdings in US Treasury securities during run up to Helsinki

Mystery as Russia LIQUIDATED almost ALL of its holdings in US Treasury securities during run up to Helsinki
Jul 29, 2018
The Russian government has sold off the vast majority of its holdings of US Treasury securities for reasons that remain mysterious, in a dramatic move that experts are calling unprecedented.
Read More

Here's an interesting little tidbit from the Daily Mail.

Well medicated for your protection. ॐ ♡

Anonymous Coward
7/29/2018 1:08 pm EST
7/29/2018 6:08 pm GMT

RE: Mystery as Russia LIQUIDATED almost ALL of its holdings in US Treasury securities during run up to Helsinki

Not mentioned in the link is this tidbit:

However, most of the excess likely came from historically large Treasury auctions to help pay for Washington's new tax cuts and spending bill, not Moscow's selling.



https://www.cnbc.com/

Anonymous Coward
7/29/2018 1:20 pm EST
7/29/2018 6:20 pm GMT

RE: Mystery as Russia LIQUIDATED almost ALL of its holdings in US Treasury securities during run up to Helsinki

Thank you Elaine for being smart and posting this. Zero Hedge is speculating that this could be a test run for China doing the same. If that happens, hang on.

Elaine
7/29/2018 1:32 pm EST
7/29/2018 6:32 pm GMT

Avatar for Elaine

RE: Mystery as Russia LIQUIDATED almost ALL of its holdings in US Treasury securities during run up to Helsinki

However, most of the excess likely came from historically large Treasury auctions to help pay for Washington's new tax cuts and spending bill, not Moscow's selling.

Good point.

Always follow the cash.
Well medicated for your protection. ॐ ♡

Anonymous Coward
7/29/2018 1:59 pm EST
7/29/2018 6:59 pm GMT

RE: Mystery as Russia LIQUIDATED almost ALL of its holdings in US Treasury securities during run up to Helsinki

Worry if it's China or Japan liquidating. This is bad enough and it calls to mind 2008, after the financial collapse, Russia wanted to cause more harm by dumping the US Securities. So they approached China (which at the time had over $4Trillion). Russia tried to collude with China to dump the entire US Securities portfolio, essentially bankrupting the US at our most vulnerable time. China did not fall in line, so as to protect their own economy. That pissed Russia off.

Forum

Browse

Paypal

Solar & Geomagnetic
Conditions
status
kpstatus

CURRENT MOON

ADVERTISEMENT

Kali Yantra